90 Day SSS · Food · General · Meal Planning · Recipe Reviews

The start of my Body Coach Journey

I’ve always been so intrigued by Joe Wicks’ lean in 15 programs, everything about it rings true to me. It’s all about good exercise and eating right. So many diets are calorie counting or cutting out fat that you end up depriving your body of essentials that it needs.

I did slimming world for a couple of months after baby 1, and I did lose the weight but I got a bit fed up of not being able to eat healthy snacks with good natural oils such as avocados and nuts because of their fat content even if it was good for you. Instead I was eating artificially flavoured muller lights like no tomorrow… no comparison really!

This body coach plan should also be sustainable afterwards as it’s teaching you about how your own body works and whether you tick better on more carbs or not. I love exercise, so it’s ticking all the boxes except for how to do all this food prep and hiit workouts with a toddler and baby in tow!

If you don’t know how it works, you fill out a questionnaire about body vitals, eating and drinking habits and also your activity level (I’m definitely not the level of a desk job anymore!) and in a few days you get your personalised food plan with 30 odd recipes for the next 30 days. There are also measurements for creating your own so you can get adventurous when wanting to think outside of the box!

You must try to do HIIT workouts 5 times a week which are only 25 mins long, and Oh My God they are hard! You really feel like you’ve had a workout and it’s great you can do it from your own home. Then as a reward you get to eat carbs with your next meal! Winning.

I love carbs, so rest days in particular where it’s reduced carb meals only will be tough, but it will be good for me and if it sheds the post baby love handles, even better!

Anyway, here’s to shifting away the mumbod and hopefully feeling a bit more bikini ready for the holiday in September!

Feeling full of enthusiasm I set my alarm clock early with the intention to do the hiit before baby and toddler woke up. I ran into problems immediately! The baby bless, her decided to not wake for her usual 4.00 feed and so was then stirring when I got up. New plan needed; quick feed, lay down and get back to it. Well the feed was ok but once I started the workout she was crying for me. Why of course, she was now up for the day! So she came to watch me from her bouncer, lucky girl.

Then another 10 minutes in, the toddler is standing up in his cot calling out that he’s done a poo! Typical!! Another quick speedy nappy change and lay down and I finally got to complete my interrupted but first workout!

Maybe mornings won’t work for me!

That be said, I did enjoy tucking into the Apple Bircher for post Carb refuel meal for breakfast! This is going to be a juggling act and a half!

It was easy to make, put the oats, protein powder, a mix of dried cranberries and raisins in a bowl with a pinch of cinnamon. Add the Apple juice and leave to soak in the fridge overnight. The next morning stir through grated apple, ground flaxseed and yoghurt and top with almonds! Yum!

Leave a comment