family meals · Food · General · Recipe Reviews

Low fat fakeaways

Sofie is now 3 months old and I feel like I’ve been sitting on the sofa feeding permanently whilst feeding myself cookies and cake. As a result I’m putting on more weight than I’m burning by feeding and my weight has gone up since having her!

Time for operation byebye mumbod! I’ve been looking at a few options, just mindful healthy eating, a slimming world plan or the 90 day body coach. In the end, because I want to feel enthusiastic about something new and because I agree with all the macronutrient science behind it, the body coach has won.

It takes a few days for your plan to come in, so in the mean time I knocked out a few family friendly dinners that are low fat, low or no syn and my favourite slimming world meals. Of course they are, they are full of carbs… Still don’t get how that works!

There are some good fakeaway recipes out there, you basically bulk up massively on the vegetables, but because the flavours are there, you still feel like you’re eating a teriyaki or sweet and sour dish.

These are my top 3!

1. Egg fried Rice with Chicken Teriyaki

This takes a bit of prep chopping up peppers, pak choi, spring onions, mangetout and garlic but it is so good. The sauce is easy to make, put all the ingredients in a bowl, marinate the chicken for 5 minutes. Cool the rice while you fry off the chicken in its sauce. Remove from the heat and fry off the veg. Add the drained rice, make a well for the egg, stir to scramble and cook. Mix all together and add the chicken!

2. Sweet and Sour Salmon Noodles

Similar to above in terms of all the veg chopping, but everything fresh is going to require it! Fry the veg off, add the salmon pieces in the sauce, and lastly add in the noodles, cover and simmer allowing the noodles to cook in the sauce!

3. Prawn and Spring Onion Risotto

This is another great cheat, it’s a great tasting risotto except for the fact it’s missing the vermouth, oodles of butter and a generous portion of Parmesan rather than a sprinkle! But that aside, the prawns and spring onions really come through making it taste like a fresh and tasty risotto!

There you go, you can eat like a king and be healthy!

Leave a comment