90 Day SSS · Food · General · Meal Planning · Recipe Reviews

Week 1 done! 💪🏻

Oh and it ended on a high with the amazing chicken jalfrezi curry! As you may know I like a bit of a fakeaway and this was great, I used the hot chilli powder to really give it some punch and it didn’t disappoint. And with poppadoms on the side too.. winning! I have to admit, I did have a glass of wine with it, I’d had such a long slog of a day. The husband is away so after putting the kids to bed it was a lot of tidying up and chores to get done on my own so fully deserved it in my opinion!

Besides, life is for living. I will (and have already) cheat a little on the program but I believe I’ll still get results if I’m on it 80% of the time! Obviously they won’t be as good, but I’m not looking to become a gym junky, just a happy and toned up mummy!

The 80/20 rule is my mantra, eat well and healthily 80% of the time, so that when you enjoy treats or have a bit of a blow out the other 20% of the time you won’t suffer with weight gain and you won’t have deprived your body or mind so you’re happy all round. And happy mummy equals happy baby, happy kids and happy daddy!

Other highs this week have been a create your own (CYO) 3 egg omelette with tomato, peppers and cheese for breakfast. (Reduced Carb)

The chicken Caesar salad bagel was immense! It was a post workout refuel meal and it was divine. You can’t not love a bagel that needs to be converted into an open sandwich because there is simply too much filling!

The reduced carb BBQ Turkey Meatball Bake was great for dinner and then leftovers for lunch the next day. It’s a little strange having a hot meal like that at noon, but it’s so easy if all I have to do is reheat it up, it makes a nice change from sandwiches!

On Fathers Day, I didn’t think I could put the husband through an Uber light carb lunch so pumped out a hiit workout before lunch so we could enjoy the chicken mac and cheese! We had been to the pub for lunch the day before so didn’t feel too guilty!

The lemon and herb pork was another great meal we enjoyed, although I hate the prep of making an escalope! The pork portion was so generous, I didn’t feel like I missed the carbs.

The seared tuna on Asian slaw I’m on the fence with. It started off great, but there was simply so much slaw that the spring onions were repeating on me all night long! Maybe I’ll just make with less next time, it’s still a lot of slaw though, makes the generous portion size of tuna look tiny!

All in all, a great week of food. It’s been quite stressful making 3 meals a day with the kids but I try to “prep like a boss” as much as I can. I’ll find my way and it will become more manageable and then the recipes will change when I hit cycle 2 and it will be a new juggling act again!

Leave a comment